October Ipsy Glam Bag Review

It’s time for our October Glam Bag Review!!!!

Alrighty friends! It is that time again.

It’s time for my Ocotber glam bag review!!!

For those of you who may not be familiar with Ipsy, Ipsy is a makeup subscription bag.  For $10 plus tax you get a really cute makeup bag with up to 5 makeup products.  Usually these are trial size but sometimes you get full size too!

his month’s theme is Black Magic, a fitting theme for halloween.  The bag is designed by a talented artist named Valfre.  The bag is a very light pink color with super fun illustrations all over that fit into the halloween theme.  The zipper is even a little ghost!  Definitely a win in my book.

Inside my bag I discovered:

-theBalm Cosmetics Hot Mama Blush

-NYX Professional Makeup Vivid Brights Liner in Vivid Gunmetal

-Pure Brazilian Leave In Miracle spray

-Indi Beauty Buttercream Antioxidant lip scrub

-tre’StiQue Matte Lip Crayon in Florence Fig

theBalm Cosmetics: Hot Mama Blush

This product claims to be a blush and highlighter that goes on silky smooth for a long lasting formula with just the right shimmer.

I really like this product.  It’s a warm peachy tone with lots of sparkle.  Peachy tones usually look great on my skin.  I’ve used this as a blush and it gave me a warm glow on my face.  But my favorite application is actually as an eyeshadow.   This had a nice opacity and made my eyes pop!  It also stayed on all day which is super important.

The brand is cruelty free and paraben free which is icing on the cake.

A full .25 oz runs for $21 so I value my .02oz size at about $1.68.  I like the prodcut but I don’t know that I’m willing to pay $21 for it.

NYX Professional Makeup Vivid Brights Liner in Vivid Gunmetal

This product boasts a long-lasting, smudge-proof formula.  This color, Vivid Gunmetal, is a bright silver.

I’m sold on this.  I really like NYX’s eyeliner and this one is no different.  The formula goes on very fluidly and is pretty opaque.  Not only is the formula pretty good, it’s super easy to apply.

I love lining my eye with a thick silver wing and then going back over with a thin black line.  Each time I wear this style I get TONS of compliments!

I think I have a full size, valued at $7!  I’ll definitely keep NYX in mind for any fun eyeliner ventures I have in the future.  They are just so easy to apply!

Pure Brazilian Leave in Miracle Spray

wp_20161022_09_45_52_pro

Ok, we have a spray! Honestly I haven’t used this one much.  I only wash my hair twice a week and it’s usually in the evening post-gym.  I can’t say anything bad about it but I just haven’t used it enough.  I must be more dedicated…

It’s a leave in conditioner that is meant to be applied post shampoo and conditioner. It offers silky smooth hair, repair, and hydration.

I got a 1oz sample.  The full size is 6.78 oz for $26.  So I value my sample at $3.83

Indie Beauty Buttercream Antioxidant Lip Scrub

I’m really really glad I got this in my bag.  I don’t use it too often but it’s one of those things you don’t want to be left without.

This product is super delicious tasting, exfoliating, moisturizing, and most importantly, removes lipstick stain!

One of my favorite things about this product is that I can pronounce all of the ingredients: Organic sugar, Shea Butter, Sweet Almond Oil, Beeswax, Avacado Oil, Vitamin E Oil, Buttercream flavoring, and Sweetener.  I could have done without the flavor and sweetener but overall I feel very comfortable using it.  I just rub a little bit on my lips, wash it off and whala! Refreshed lips.

I’m not sure how big my sample size is, but a full size runs 5 grams for $11.99.  I’m going to guess liberally and say mine’s worth about a $1.  I’d pay $1 for my sample.

TreStique Matte Lip Crayon in Florence Fig

Finally! My other favorite product  from this bag (other being the eyeliner) is this awesome awesome lip crayon.

This product goes on smoothly for a long lasting matte finish.

I was bummed when I saw this color because I was hoping for the dark red version that some folks got.  But guys, I have used this so many times in the last month.  It’s the absolute perfect color for my lips.  It’s very close to my natural color so I can put this on without my friends asking me why I put lipstick on to go the grocery store (Because it’s fun. That’s why.)  I have a similar color from tarte so I’ve found myself lining with this and then going over with my tarte color for a nice full coverage.

This works great by itself too. My tarte lipstick is a little pink while this color is a little more brown, if you will.  I say brown very lightly because it’s a nude color, definitely not brown!

Regardless I love this thing and hope I get more products from this brand in the future!

My “mini” crayon is .7 oz vs the full size that includes a complimenting lip balm color the same tube.  $28 for that, so mines probably good for at least $5.

Overall, I LOVED my ipsy bag.  I know I’m way behind on posting this, it happens when my day job takes over my life…

But I’m so happy with each of my products.  I value my bag at around $18 plus the bag.  Definitely a win this month Ipsy!

I know you’re ready to try Ipsy now so head on over and sign up!

Want more reviews? Follow me and check out some of my past reviews.  More are coming!!!!

Stay tuned for a DIY Makeup shelf for under $20!

Leave a Reply

